1) 2004 Champions Trophy

The first time that Pakistan beat arch-rival India in an ICC tournament was in a 2004 Champions Trophy tie at Edgbaston, Birmingham when it won by 3 wickets in a low-scoring battle. India, Pakistan, and Kenya had been pitted in the same group. Both the Asian sides had won their respective matches against Kenya and faced each other in a do-or-die clash.
Batting first, India were reduced to 73 for the loss of 5 wickets. But due to valuable contributions from Rahul Dravid (67) and Ajit Agarkar (47), it was able to post a respectable score of 200.
Chasing this target, Pakistan appeared to be trudging weak early on, with only 27 on the board and 3 batsmen out at one point. Left-arm pacer Irfan Pathan had taken all the wickets early in the innings. However, Yousuf Youhana (now Mohammad Yousuf), with an unbeaten 81, and Inzamam-ul-Haq’s 41 turned the match on its head. They put on a 75-run partnership for the fourth wicket to take Pakistan close to the target. And, a late cameo from ‘Boom Boom’ Shahid Afridi (25 of 12) secured Pakistan’s win with four balls to spare.
2) 2009 Champions Trophy
Pakistan continued their dominance over India in the 2009 edition of Champions Trophy at SuperSport Park, Centurion where a century from Shoaib Malik (128) and Mohammad Yousuf (87) scripted a 54-run win over India. The Pakistani duo shared a solid 206-run partnership for the fourth wicket and Pakistan posted a fearsome total of 302.
The Indian innings didn’t go well, as Sachin Tendulkar fell early in the chase. But Gautam Gambhir (57) and Rahul Dravid (76) took on Pakistani attack. But Gambhir’s run-out changed the flow of the match and India started losing wickets at regular intervals. Suresh Raina (46) kept India in the hunt for a while, but after he was dismissed by Saeed Ajmal, India’s hopes of chasing down the target vanished. Finally, India was packed off for 248 in the 45th over of the match.
3) 2013 Champions Trophy
Team India finally broke their jinx against arch-rival Pakistan in the Champions Trophy as they managed to come out on top for the first time in three attempts. In a rain-curtailed match at Edgbaston, Birmingham. Dhoni’s men thrashed Pakistan by 8 wickets with the help of Duckworth and Lewis System.
Indian bowlers produced a good performance as Pakistan were dismissed for a paltry 165 in 39.4 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja all picked up two wickets each while two tailenders were run out by Virat Kohli and Umesh Yadav.
Team India got off to a solid start with Shikhar Dhawan (48) taking the attack to the Pakistani bowlers. Rain interrupted the match twice but Dhawan’s onslaught ensured that India was much ahead of the D/L par score. Virat Kohli (22) and Dinesh Karthik (11) remained not out as the duo achieved their revised target of 102 in the 20th over of the match.
4) 2017 Champions Trophy
Now the Battle is on, tell us who you think will win this year’s Champions Trophy in the comment section.
Like and Share our post, Thanks.
Facebook Comments